The Most Hated Man in The World pt. 2

In my last post (click here) I discussed the meaning of the name Lucifer. So in this second part I will discuss Lucifer’s fall from grace.  As a child I used to attend church, not every Sunday but on occasion. Along with my grandmother, my mother and uncle drove down to our local church. I use to wait for the service to be over mostly because I hated the stockings I had to wear. I also use to attend the Sunday school they had for children, I had a dislike for that mostly because I felt I was a bit too old for some of the activities like puppet shows for example.  However one thing that always stuck with me was this love for God and his son Jesus Christ and this contempt and hatred for Lucifer who also goes by the title of Devil.  Now I never understood why the people of the church and God hated this one person so much.  I knew that if I got in trouble with my mother she would discipline me but that didn’t me she didn’t love me nor did she kick me out her home which is what God did to Lucifer.

The bible tells of Lucifer’s fall from Heaven in a couple of verses,

Ezekiel 28:13-19

 You were in Eden, the garden of God; every precious stone was your covering, sardius, topaz, and diamond, beryl, onyx, and jasper, sapphire, emerald, and carbuncle; and crafted in gold were your settings and your engravings. On the day that you were created they were prepared. You were an anointed guardian cherub. I placed you; you were on the holy mountain of God; in the midst of the stones of fire you walked. You were blameless in your ways from the day you were created, till unrighteousness was found in you. In the abundance of your trade you were filled with violence in your midst, and you sinned; so I cast you as a profane thing from the mountain of God, and I destroyed you, O guardian cherub, from the midst of the stones of fire. Your heart was proud because of your beauty; you corrupted your wisdom for the sake of your splendor. I cast you to the ground; I exposed you before kings, to feast their eyes on you. …

Isaiah 14:12-15

 “How you are fallen from heaven, O Day Star, son of Dawn! How you are cut down to the ground, you who laid the nations low! You said in your heart, ‘I will ascend to heaven; above the stars of God I will set my throne on high; I will sit on the mount of assembly in the far reaches of the north; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will make myself like the Most High.’ But you are brought down to Sheol, to the far reaches of the pit.

 

In both Ezekiel and Isaiah, Lucifer is describe as this perfect angel that was created by God himself adorned with precious stone, however the sin of Pride begins to fill his heart and he begins to not only lose his grace but becomes the main adversary of God and becomes this tempter of mankind hoping to corrupt as many souls as possible. Now Pride is one of the seven deadly vices (sin) and it is considered the most deadly of them all and the source of the rest. It is identified as believing that one is essentially better than others, failing to acknowledge the accomplishments of others, and excessive admiration of the personal self especially holding self out of proper position toward God.  Now in our modern society pride is not necessary seen as sinful, there are people who are proud of their country, there are others who are prideful of religion and then there are others who are proud of their race or ethnicity (Black Pride,White Power). However pride can be harmful in case of the phrase white power which is mostly associated with white supremacy is a form of racism centered upon the belief, and promotion of the belief, that white people are superior in certain characteristics, traits, and attributes to people of other racial backgrounds and that therefore whites should politically, economically and socially rule non-whites. These beliefs are held by groups such as the Aryan Brotherhood, Neo-nazism and of course the Ku Klux Klan.

war-in-heaven

 

Lucifer reminds me of an older sibling who becomes jealous of the newest edition to the family. Lucifer is an angel and was created before mankind ( Job 38:1-7 ) . Adam and Eve were the newest children of God and were created in his image. So I can see how this may spark a bit of jealousy and not only that but angels from what I have read are limited to what they can do or experience since they are essentially spirits. Then there is Jesus Christ, who is the son of God who is given a power that Lucifer, the other angels and mankind will never possess. So Lucifer displays not only the sin of Pride against God but the sin of envy against Christ along with the feelings of hatred for him and mankind.

 

Lucifer allows for his pride to get the best of him which causes his ultimate fate. Now before his fall Lucifer is actually still in Heaven along with the other angels, so I often wondered why is Lucifer allowed to do this from Heaven and tempt mankind the way he does. Lucifer is not banished from the Heavens until the Book of Revelation which many scenarios and other characters are introduce : the rapture, the whore of Babylon, the antichrist and the return of Jesus. Lucifer is just an angel and from what I have read from the Bible no human,angel or demon is powerful that God, so why does he allow Lucifer to do the things he does and the most important question for me to ask is why doesn’t God offer Lucifer that same salvation that he bestows upon mankind? Jesus Christ is said to have died for all of mankind’s sins and redemption is possible. So can Lucifer be redeemed?

 

 

lucifer_212759

 

Leave a Reply

